TRINIDADJUNCTION.COM WELCOMES SOYINI FORDE!

October 14, 2006

I’m pleased to welcome a dear friend of mine, Ms. Soyini Forde, budding writer extraordinaire, to the Junction.

I first met Soyini during my sophmore/junior year at Barry University in Miami Shores. We instantly connected because of the whole “shared heritage in a foreign land” thing and soon discovered that we had alot of other things in common.

I’d never had the opportunity to read her work before she submitted some of her stuff to the Junction. Her work is truly inspiring and I’m so happy and very proud (of her) that she decided to share her work with the TrinidadJunction.com audience. She’s a phenomenal writer and I can’t wait to read more of her pieces! I love that she’s a thinker and is interested in exploring pertinent issues, including those relating to sex, race and culture. Her ideas concerning the role of women in soca are especially thought-provoking and I look forward to seeing some of her commentary inside the TrinidadJunction.com forums – I am sure that her views and opinions will generate a lot of introspection, conversation and debate.

As always, stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

