Lordy Lord – Pressure! Competition in we tail!

September 26, 2006

I thought I was alone in this fight but I was wrong. I was excited because I was certain that I would be bringing something new and needed to T&T with Trinidad Junction. But today, the bubble burst. Read on, I’ll tell you why in a few sentences.

The idea for Trinidad Junction grew out of something deeply personal and has now evolved into a movement that many can relate to and want to be a part of.  Although I designed and developed the website on my own, I’ve felt a growing need to involve more and more people. Part of this need has come out of necessity – I have a job that takes up most of my day, so time is a scarce resource – but the other part of it comes from my desire to work with others, bounce ideas between a group of like-minded individuals and work with supremely talented people towards something positive, a common goal. But I digress…

I called my mother this evening to ask for advice (she’s good with that…most mothers are I guess) and was stunned when she mentioned a recent article in the Express that featured a website with a similar mission. It’s called Caribbean Arts Village and is run by a girl I used to dance with. For a second I was bummed out. I thought, “All that work for nothing…I just wasted a whole lot of time and energy developing an idea that I thought was unique and now I find out I have a twin who I never knew about. Plus on top of all that, my twin lives in Trinidad and I’m here in NY. It’s all over!”

But all of a sudden, I snapped out of it almost as quickly as I fell into my temporary depression. Why? Well, business school has left an analytical imprint on my psyche so I immediately began to rationalize, trying to put a positive spin on the situation. Having competition is a good thing. Right?! Of course it is! It’ll only make the girls and I (oh yeah, I have girls now!) work harder and in the end, the finished product will be totally awesome! — well, at least I hope that’s the case.

If you’ve been reading this blog since the beginning, I’d like to take this opportunity to thank you for sticking with it. If I was with TRIBE, I’d give you a TLC (that’s a TRIBE Loyalty Card for those of you who aren’t tuned into the Trinidad Carnival Madness) but since I don’t why don’t you send me an email at nikkia@trinidadjunction or comment here and introduce yourselves. I’d like to thank you personally for your ongoing support.

2 Responses to “Lordy Lord – Pressure! Competition in we tail!”

  1. The Manicou Says:

    Well I don’t know if I’ve been reading from the begining, but I pop in everyday to see what’s going on and I really like your site.

    Do you think this friend of yours outright stole your idea? In any case i hope you win. 🙂

  2. nikkia Says:

    Awww shucks. Thanks Manicou – for the support AND for popping in every now and then to see what’s going on. I don’t think my idea was stolen…I just think that it’s an uncanny coincidence. Our sites are alike but not the same. I hope that people recognize the differences and forge allegiances accordingly. The truth is, we’re both supporting the same cause so…I can’t really complain. But I’m human…and kind of competitive..I can’t help either of those realities. By the way, I read your blog too..and I think you’re totally awesome. I should be commenting though…I know..I’ll try harder.
    Thanks again.


Leave a Reply

