CarnivalJunction.com – BACK IN ACTION!

September 22, 2006

cafepresslogo1.gifIt’s that time again folks. Carnival Junction.com is back in action and ready for all you CARNIVAL HUNGRY, I-HAVE-TO-HAVE-MY-COSTUME-NOW masqueraders – both at home and abroad.

Now I know that this year in particular, early registration coupled with the enormous costume price hikes being doled out by today’s two hottest bands, TRIBE and Island People have been getting some people down. But people seem to be forgetting that TRIBE and IP are not the only two bands out there. Yes, I know that the costumes are hot and that they’re the only two bands out there right now that are all-inclusive through and through, but that shouldn’t mean that people should be freaking out over the ridiculously high prices like they have other options.

Now imagine you are in the market to buy a new car. You really really want a BMW or a Lexus. It’s been your dream since you learned to drive and your parents let you take the family Lexus for a quick trip around the block. But you’re fresh out of college and haven’t been working long enough to have amassed significant savings. You’re ketching your tail just finding enough money to pay for your cellphone bill at the end of the month, so buying that BMW or Lexus is out of the question. What do you do? Do you rob a bank because you won’t settle for anything else? Or, do you reassess your priorities and start looking for something that’s in your price range, decent looking and can get you from point A to point B?

How many of us would choose the fancy car? I’d guess a lot. For some reason, most of us will do anything it takes to get only certain things in life. When I drive through poorer neighborhoods in NYC, I’m always amazed to see the kinds of cars that are parked on the street. In a rap battle, you’re more of a target if your car is busted. No one cares if you’re poor. My point? Well, I guess that’s what Carnival is morphing into to these days – some kind of popularity contest. You may be broke all the time, but nothing will stop you from finding the money to pay for a TT$3000 costume. Because, come hell or high water, you will not be caught dead in Trini Revellers!

I feel your pain, trust me. I’m one of those people (although, I’d like to think that I’m more of a die hard Carnival lover than anything else).

One month before Carnival 2006, I still had no idea if I was going to make it. I didn’t have enough money to buy a ticket home AND a costume but I knew that I had to make it home. I started Carnival Junction to help out a little bit. People living outside Trinidad, who were forced to buy costumes in August because of early registrations, etc. flocked to the site to try and sell them at the last minute. And people like me, who found out that they could make it to Trinidad at the last minute went to the site and got connected with those sellers. (Oh yeah, and thanks for buying my ticket and costume for my birthday, mummy!)

So now that TRIBE and IP already have sold out sections, Carnival Junction is saying hello again.

2 Responses to “CarnivalJunction.com – BACK IN ACTION!”

  1. npfxm Says:

    Good site!!!

  2. shamekia Says:

    To all viewing this website. I am looking to buy a costume for 2008 in tribe.. Silver Mist or Goddess of the chase if you will. please send me a respond asap.
    Sizes 34b 26 waist 35 hip
    Thanks


Leave a Reply

